Mesa, AZ DUI Attorney

If alcohol or drugs were involved, even a minor accident may result in DUI charges and the need for a Mesa DUI attorney. If someone is injured or killed in the accident, you may be facing even more serious charges. Without a strong defense, you may be facing mandatory prison terms. So, it is important you have an experienced Mesa DUI attorney on your side.

At Zolman Law, we take on tough DUI cases and fight to get you the best possible outcome. With the proper DUI defense, your case may result in a dismissal, not guilty verdict, no jail time, or substantially reduced charges. Call us today to speak to your local DUI attorney. We’ll fight for you!

In Mesa, Arizona you may be charged with DUI under the following conditions:

  • If the government can prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you were driving a vehicle or in actual physical control of a vehicle and impaired to the slightest degree, you can be charged.
  • If the government can prove, your Blood Alcohol Concentration was a .08% or more within two hours of driving you can be charged.
    Juries tend to despise people charged with DUI. This makes taking a DUI case to trial a challenge, but it doesn’t mean that you should just plead guilty. There may are dozens of defenses to DUI charges and DUI cases can be won with the right DUI attorney, under the right circumstances

What are Some of The Possible Mesa DUI Defenses?

  • There was no probable cause to arrest you
  • You weren’t physically in control of the vehicle
  • There was no reasonable suspicion to stop you
  • You were denied your right to counsel by the police
  • Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) was below .08% at the time of driving
  • Your Miranda Rights were violated
  • An Illegal blood draw was performed
  • The blood draw was contaminated
  • The police reports were misleading

Is Home Detention an Option in DUI Cases?

Under some circumstances, you may be able to serve out your sentence at home. While on Home Detention for a DUI charge, you are required to wear a GPS monitor and have a machine installed in your house that will require you to submit to 3 random alcohol tests per day.

  • How much jail time or the option for home detention depends on the county you are in. If you are arrested by Maricopa County sheriff’s deputies or Arizona Department of Public Safety officers for a DUI, the Judges in Maricopa County cannot issue sentences for home detention.
  • Most home detention allows you to work 6 days a week, 12 hours a day
  • If you are given home detention for a DUI, you will be required to pay the cost for electronic monitoring.

Will I Get Fired for a DUI in Arizona?

Every employer is different, but it stands to reason that if you are convicted of a DUI in Arizona, you may lose your job. This is especially true if your job requires you to drive, operate machinery or hold a professional license. Even if none of those things are true, missed work due to court appearances, mandatory alcohol treatment or serving time, all increase the likelihood that on top of criminal penalties you face for a DUI, you may need to find another job.

If you are facing DUI charges in Mesa, it’s essential to speak with an experienced DUI attorney Trying to represent yourself, using a public defender, or paying a cut-rate DUI attorney in Mesa may not be the best way to go. The penalties and consequences of a DUI conviction are simply too great to go with one of those options. Call your local DUI attorney at Zolman Law. We will review your case for free and help you to formulate the best possible defense to your DUI charges.

What Are The Penalties for DUI in Arizona?

The penalties for DUI in Arizona are some of the harshest in the country. A conviction carries mandatory jail, mandatory fines, license suspension, and the ignition interlock device. Depending on the blood alcohol concentration and history, jail can range from 1 day to 6 months for misdemeanors and up to 15 years for a felony.

1st Time Misdemeanor Driving Under the Influence (under .15 BAC)

  • Minimum jail 10 days jail, but 9 may be suspended
  • Maximum Jail – 6 months
  • Fines & Penalties:
    • $250 Fine
    • $210 Surcharge
    • $500 Prison Fund
    • $500 Public Safety Equip. Fund
    • $20 Time Pay Fee
    • $20 Probation Fee
  • 90-day License Suspension
  • Possible Probation up to 5 years
  • Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
  • Possible community service
  • Pay for jail incarceration
  • Possible monthly probation fees
  • Possible SR22 insurance
  • 1-year Ignition interlock

2nd Time Misdemeanor Driving Under the Influence Above a .08 BAC (but less than .15)

  • New DUI charges must be within 84 months of the date of the 1st DUI conviction.
  • Minimum jail – 90 days jail, but 60 may be suspended if successfully complete alcohol classes.
  • Maximum Jail – 6 months
  • Fines & Penalties:
    • $500 Fine
    • $420 Surcharge
    • $1250 Prison Fund
    • $1250 Public Safety Equip. Fund
    • $20 Time Pay Fee
    • $20 Probation Fee
  • 1-year license revocation (no driving at all)
  • Possible Probation up to 5 years
  • Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
  • 30+ hours of community service
  • Pay for jail incarceration
  • Possible monthly probation fees
  • Possible SR22 insurance
  • 1-year Ignition interlock

If you have questions or if you are facing DUI charges in Mesa, AZ or surrounding communities in Arizona, please contact Zolman Law for a free case review.